Leave a comment

Going Your Own Way: The Results

Going Your Own Way: The Results

A little over six weeks ago, I wrote a post about my frustration with the advice I had been given by my doctor and my nutritionist, titled “Going Your Own Way.”  Since that post, I have done just that; gone my own way.  I took that frustration and channeled it into a reason to rediscover myself…and the results were pleasantly surprising!

I have spent the last six weeks watching my diet, listening to my body, and figuring out just what it is that makes my body want to shed pounds.  I have been trying to track my intake very closely so that I can begin to identify problem foods, events, times of day, etc.  I have found that my body is most happy and energetic when I eat a completely vegan diet and manage my stress.  The entirety of the six weeks I followed a vegetarian diet, but the vast majority of that time, I was eating a completely vegan diet.  I have had several epiphanies.

If you look at my little progress widget to the right you will see that my weight loss progress has grown to over 10 pounds lost!!  I am very proud of my accomplishment, and that it was possible in just six short weeks (with no change in exercise routine mind you).  That is straight weight loss from diet changes and portion changes alone.  No joking.  That also means I am already 1/3 of the way toward my September 1st goal of having lost 30 pounds!  I am excited that I might have to readjust that goal…we will see.

So what is the deal with the big old plate of nachos as the lead in to my weight loss success?  I am so glad that you asked me that. 🙂  That lovely plate of craziness is 100% vegan.  Yep. V.E.G.A.N.  Some homemade cashew queso, some bean and rice tortilla chips, some veggies, salsa, and soy sour cream…oh man!  I am learning that the more I substitute real foods and real ingredients for things I used to eat, the better I feel, the better my skin looks, and the more weight I lose.  However, there are some things that I have already learned that I do not want to do, even if I am going to eat vegan/vegetarian.  More on that some other time…

The thought that I want to leave you with this time is, EXPERIMENT.  Get to know yourself, eat some more veggies, make a smoothie, drink some water, say “no” more, take some “me” time…start crowding out the bad stuff, and you will start to feel better.  If I can do it, so can you.

Do you have the strength?

Leave a Reply

