4 Comments

Going Your Own Way

Going Your Own Way

Let me tell you an anecdote…

So a fat girl walked into a nutritionist’s office and said, “I want to feel better! I am tired of being overweight. I am tired of not sleeping well. I am tired of feeling like I have allergies all the time. When I eat meat it makes me feel like crap… What should I do?”

So the nutritionist says nothing except, “Tell me what you ate in the last 24 hours…”

After a painful five minutes of recanting all of the horrible things she crammed into her mouth the day before… the nutritionist stopped her and said, “You are eating too many carbohydrates. Cut your carbs. No beans. No bread. No potatoes…”

The girl looked at her and just blinked…

Are you laughing yet?
I was.

That was what happened to me last month at the nutritionist. I went in looking for answers, and I got some old advice…”eat more meat, cut those carbs!”

I have kind of had it with medical advice. I am blessed with a strange combination of being morbidly obese, yet having none of the associated health side effects (high blood pressure, heart disease, diabetes, etc.). This seems to leave my doctor and my nutritionist confused about what advice to give me about my weight. The truth is, I know what I should eat…I was a chef for the last 14 years. I eat well most of the time, sometimes just too well.

I have spent the last month treating my body as a science experiment. I followed the nutritionist’s advice for three weeks, despite my personal objections…what did I get? A net GAIN of 10 pounds!!! That was with an increase to exercising and everything.

So last week I said, “That’s it, I am going my own way!!” I ditched the meat, cheese, dairy, and processed food from my diet…and do you know what happened in just four days? I LOST 5 POUNDS. I wasn’t depriving myself, I was eating well, and I was eating homemade…but away went all of that food that I told the nutritionist was making me feel bad.

I feel good. This week has been the most energetic week I have had in years! I sleep better, my skin looks healthier, my eyes are whiter, I can walk further, and you know what? I AM NOT HUNGRY ALL THE TIME!!

Now that is a revelation for someone with my appetite. By eliminating all of those high-calorie, animal based foods, I actually feel like I have gotten control of my hunger again.

Well, the experiment continues…I may have a nice lean steak or something every once in a while, but for now, animals are off the menu.

Do you have the strength?

4 comments on “Going Your Own Way

  1. All nutritionists are different, I guess. I went to the registered dietician at my college to talk about my shift to a vegan diet and make sure that I was doing it in a healthy way. She told me that it was a fabulous choice and honestly, the healthiest diet I could ever choose. Just listen to your body-it’s obviously telling you what is best!

    • That is refreshing to hear! Well, I guess that I just got a dud, or it is my obesity that is throwing off her judgement or something. My father passed away from a sudden and fatal heart attack in 2010, so I have been researching the vegan diet and its health benefits for the last year and a half. I do not want to suffer the same fate. I think that I am making the right choice for myself…and time will tell on everything else. Thanks for commenting!! šŸ™‚

      • I’ve done the research myself and I would have to agree! Plus, I’m overweight too. With a vegan diet for the last 7 months, it has been coming off slowly, but surely.

        • Good for you! That is great to hear…I am glad that I am not the only one out there trying to blaze a path to a healthier lifestyle. I will have to check out your blog today for sure! Keep in touch! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

